Beyond Beauty|Body Image and the Issue

Beyond Beauty|Body Image and the Issue


BBbannerMy ‘Beyond Beauty’ series is a tiny attempt by me where every month I would be touching upon topics that are beyond makeup and shopping. This is in an attempt to talk of real issues that haunt the regular human ranging from body image, haters to eating disorders to anything and everything that I feel needs to be shared and spoken about. It is my little way of spreading the love. I hope this would help my fellow bloggers and readers interact and converse over these topics because if nothing we could just be cheering someone up! 😀 You can read the whole idea behind this series in detail HERE.

This month it’s about body image and why it is an issue.

I am no expert but I spent an entire semester researching on this topic since one of my Professors in University thought it was cool to base our entire semester assignments on this. After researching and writing about 7 assignments on this topic I learnt some cringe worthy stuff.

Back in Uni I would always joke to my friends saying that after this particular class I am deffo gonna be having serious body image issues. Little did I know it was a devil that was chasing me, trying to defeat me and my confidence for the longest time ever.The worst part was that I was not the only one it was after.

Merriam Webster defines BODY IMAGE as :

“a subjective picture of one’s own physical appearance established both by self-observation and by noting the reactions of others.”

And this precisely is what it is.

Body Image is your perspective on your body in comparison to a benchmark you have set for yourself often(always) heavily influenced by media and society. What I am trying to say is we are pretty much super content with chaffing thighs, a double chin, stomach fat or a skinny body until someone tells/shows/broadcasts to us what our ‘ideal’ body should look like. Apart from being a huge business source, body image is a huge issue because now we are all trying to attain the unattainable. Unattainable because it’s not practical to look thatPhotoshopped in real life. I mean you all probably have read the quote ‘…the model doesn’t even look like the model in that picture”. We are humans and we are meant to have flaws and that is beautiful.

Source: Buzz Quotes
Source: Buzz Quotes

I would never discourage someone who wants to workout or do anything to make themselves feel confident and good but I really hate how most of us are forced to change because someone else feels or tells you that you aren’t enough.

That is not true…. you are always enough.

The amount of people I know who are trying to attain a body of the model they saw on TV is insane. I mean its good to want something and work towards that but these people would force everyone and their pet to believe that THAT is the perfect figure. What if I want to feel happy with that little extra fat on my waist, I mean my BMI says its ok so why are we having any argument beyond that.

I really don’t want to stretch this post so simply what I am trying to say is its ok to be happy with yourself even if others aren’t. No one should make you feel less not even yourself. You don’t have to be an ideal, you just need to be flawed human you were made to be. Love what you have and cherish it.

Source: Buzz Quotes
Source: Buzz Quotes

On that note, always keep smiling and shining!!! 😉

**Disclaimer: I am no expert, I am just sharing my perspective so pretty please don’t hold it against me.

Let me know your thoughts on this in the comments below. You know I love to hear them.

Also you can read my last months Beyond Beauty post on ‘Dealing with haters’ HERE.


FIND ME ON:

FACEBOOK: HTTPS://WWW.FACEBOOK.COM/CHOCOLATEFROSST

TWITTER :HTTPS://TWITTER.COM/CHOCOLATEFROSST

INSTAGRAM: HTTP://INSTAGRAM.COM/CHOCOLATEFROSST

5 thoughts on “Beyond Beauty|Body Image and the Issue

  1. Thanks for the reminder! I really needed this. For the past couple of years, people have been commenting on how skinny I am and how I should “bulk up” or “eat a burger to gain some curves”. When in reality, my body type has been this way for my entire life. It’s really weird how media can shape our mindset so quickly. One moment, a thin body type is the “ideal” and then the next, it’s curvy. We should really just focus on keeping a healthy body, and loving the bodies that we were born in. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I completely agree and I don’t think anyone should comment on how someone else’s body should look like. I am glad I could help with this reminder. Also more power to you,stay confident and comfortable in it so much that no one feels comfortable to comment on it negatively.For the past few months people have been giving me diet advices while I obviously ain’t interested in starving myself. *sigh*
      Thanks for the comment hun, really appreciate it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for sharing the video, the concept behind dietainment is just so vile and not so many people especially the young realise it.It’s a huge money grinder feeding on people’s insecurities which they created in the first place. Thanks so much for the comment, really appreciate it.

      Like

Leave a comment

