This Dior Crayon Eyeliner Waterproof Is Two-faced | A Review

This Dior Crayon Eyeliner Waterproof Is Two-faced | A Review


I am on a roll lately. I have been finishing up reviews I had started a long time ago; the days of procrastination are over hopefully! 😉 I had taken the photographs for this post months ago and I had to hunt for them today. lol

Anyways, I had planned to dish out what I think of this Dior Crayon Eyeliner.

IMG_0080

I had purchased this a little more than a year ago. By the time I got home from the store I was regretting it.I spent quite awhile making my decision between this eyeliner and another Dior eyeliner so this was a total bummer.

My first impression of it (at the store) was of a good pigmented, smooth eyeliner.

My second impression (when I got home and tried it on) was a big fail. It wasn’t pigmented, it felt harsh and I literally couldn’t get any liner on my waterline despite some crazy attempts. For the price I paid I was utterly disappointed and with a heavy heart I chucked it somewhere into my makeup stash never to be used.

But somewhere early this year I saw it lying long forgotten in my stash and thought I’d just give it a try. I accidentally dropped it and the tip broke so I had to sharpen it before use. This time around my waterline was served a highly pigmented black liner that glided perfectly. I was astonished and pretty happy. So I got around to using it again.

Swatch…

IMG_0081
Two strokes: One stroke

Packaging: It is Christian Dior so the packaging is pretty fancy in silver and has the monogrammed CD (as seen in pic above/below) print all over the pencil. The eyeliner pencil itself is dual ended with the pencil part on one side and a smudger on the other. It also comes with a complimentary sharpener that comes with all Dior pencil products which also made it to my beauty tools tag, give it a read HERE).

IMG_0071

The smudger…

IMG_0079

The complimentary sharpener…
 IMG_0077

After happily using the liner again few times, I came across the same problem that had me shunning this liner a year ago. It stopped working. It feels so hard and I realized I need to sharpen it again for it to work properly again. This is why I call this liner two-faced. It’s just so unpredictable. I paid some 3000+ yen for this and I expect demand it to work like magic.

However, when its being all good it is a very good liner. It does some really applaud worthy job. It is highly pigmented and glides easily. It doesn’t smudge or run down and stays put for a long time(I haven’t counted the hours). You can easily build up the color and even create smoky look using the smudger.

On the other hard when it’s giving me a hard time, it just doesn’t work; like literally doesn’t make a line. After much investigation I realized a waxy layer probably forms on the crayon tip that doesn’t allow the liner to work effectively therefore needs to be sharpened to rid off that layer. It feels like hard wax and isn’t safe to use around a sensitive area like the eye. This just disappoints me.

Also the tip breaks off constantly which is so unreliable and definitely makes it a product I don’t want to carry around with me.

IMG_0078

It is an expensive eyeliner sold at $29 and probably costs more in different countries depending on taxes etc. When I buy something designer and pay a hefty price I really expect the product to be just great. This ended up being such a disappointing purchase. It’s so unreliable and messy.

In case you’re finding for a good eye liner , check THIS POST out. It works like magic.

Have you tried this eyeliner? What is your favorite eyeliner?

Keep Smiling! Xx


Wanna see more eyeliner reviews? Click HERE

Also check out my other beauty/makeup reviews HERE


FIND ME ON:

FACEBOOK: HTTPS://WWW.FACEBOOK.COM/CHOCOLATEFROSST

TWITTER :HTTPS://TWITTER.COM/CHOCOLATEFROSST

INSTAGRAM: HTTP://INSTAGRAM.COM/CHOCOLATEFROSST

13 thoughts on “This Dior Crayon Eyeliner Waterproof Is Two-faced | A Review

  1. This sounds really fussy! Maybe they formulated it so that you HAVE to constantly sharpen it to get “fresh” product so that you use it up faster. It’s a ploy to get you running out of this faster! 😮
    My favourite pencil liner is unfortunately a limited edition one from Lancome. I hate it when they offer limited edition FORMULAS, I understand if it was LE colour, but a whole formula? Why! It’s called Khol in Love in Chocolate Affair and it’s a creamy pencil that’s budge-proof once it sets. Amazing stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If they thought formulating a horrrible product would make people buy more of it especially with so many other good competitive products out there I think thats pretty stupid of them. I mean it makes sense for them to do that though.
      Oh you have an obsession with Limited Edition products and to tease us with them. *sigh* I probably would never find out the creaminess of that Khol liner. I never knew they offered limited edition formulas but I hope they bring out a line with the formula in the future.
      Thanks for reading hun. X

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

